FAA Exam System

Astrology Qualifications

The FAA offers two qualifications in astrology that are nationally and internationally recognised promoting professionalism within astrology. They are:

  1. the FAA Diploma of Astrology [Dip Astro (FAA)] and
  2. the FAA Advanced Diploma of Astrology [Adv Dip Astro (FAA)]
The FAA exam system is based on contemporary western astrology that uses a counselling perspective. Candidates wishing to sit this exam system must display sound counselling skills or positive framing and use the outer modern planets Uranus, Neptune and Pluto which are often called the collective or transpersonal planets.

There are four exams that make up the FAA Diploma of Astrology. Each exam may be attempted in any order and there is no time limit to complete all four exams. It is not necessary to successfully complete one examination in order to do another. Any person may apply to sit an exam; the only requirement is that the candidate must be a financial member of an affiliated FAA association.

The four exams that make up the FAA Exam System leading to the FAA Diploma of Astrology are:

  1. Interpretation – offered annually in February
  2. Specialist Techniques & Relationship – offered biennially in May
  3. Calculation – offered annually in August
  4. Dynamic – offered annually in October

Each exam is held at approximately the same time each year.

  • Exam dates are published on the FAA website and advertised in the FAA National Journal.
  • Candidate must pass all four exams to gain the FAA Diploma of Astrology

The present fees for the exams are:

  • Interpretation, Relationship & Specialist Techniques, Calculation & Dynamic – $200 ($150 concession card holders)
  • All prospective exam candidates are welcome to apply for an APA scholarship which can assist in paying one exam fee per year.
  • A $10.00 late application fee applies for applications received after the closing date.
  • Fees are subject to inflationary rises when warranted

The Diploma of Astrology is the FAA’s minimum qualification to practice astrology professionally; therefore, a high standard is expected of candidates.

The Advanced Diploma is the highest academic honour given by the FAA. In order to apply for a Advanced Diploma the applicant must hold the FAA Diploma of Astrology (formerly Practitioner’s Certificate FAA). Candidates may apply at any time.

The Advanced Diploma is the highest academic honour given by the FAA. In order to apply for a Advanced Diploma the applicant must hold the FAA Diploma of Astrology (formerly Practitioner’s Certificate FAA)… (click the tab on the left). Candidates may apply at any time.

An Advanced Diploma is awarded:

  • On the submission of a research thesis of your own choosing. Candidates are asked to submit a synopsis of their thesis with their application, which is then judged by the Board as to its suitability. This is to avoid those subjects which are obviously invalid or inappropriate to the standard of the Diploma.
  • On submission of a published work, or work that has contributed significantly to the standard of Australian astrology. The applicant must again submit a synopsis of the work on application.

The thesis or work is judged by two examiners who have some expertise in the field of the work submitted. If there is no member of the Board with such expertise, the work will be sent to recognised experts in that field for evaluation.

For more information, download the Exam Book (see link on the right).

Changes to the FAA Exam System

From 2017 onwards the following changes will take effect:

  • Exam specific marking guides.
  • Each essay based exam will have its own marking guide.
  • This marking guide will set out exactly what the examiner is looking for from the candidate.
  • Each marking guide will list the marks granted to each component of the exam.
  • The marking guide will be sent out with each essay based exam.
  • This marking guide will replace the general marking guide currently listed in the exam book.
  • The calculation exam will be held on one state venue only. Students will need to make their own arrangements to sit the exam at the nominated venue.